Contact Me

Follow

Follow on Bloglovin
Powered by Blogger.

Google+ Followers

Follow by Email

Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Amity by Micol Ostow
Published by Egmont USA
My Rating:  ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Disclaimer: Received for review consideration from the publisher via Edelweiss. This does not affect my opinion of the book. 

 For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.


Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

Review: There's plenty to enjoy in Amity, especially for horror fans. As someone who will watch almost any scary movie* and also loves Stephen King, this book was right in my wheelhouse and it certainly delivered. Inspired by the legend surrounding the Amityville Murders as well as various other horror books (Stephen King's The Shining, in particular) this novel provides plenty of creepy moments as it relates the story of two different families inhabiting the evil house. References and allusions to other horror works are fun and plentiful, but most compelling (to me) was the protagonists and the dual first person narration.

    Viewing the house through Connor's eyes serves as a great way to escalate tension, as the creepiness escalates so do the early hints that there's something off about this narrator. Connor also has the specter of his abusive father looming over his family as a danger separate from any kind of haunting. Gwen, the second POV whose family buys the house ten years after Connor's, was recently released from a mental hospital and struggles with the question of whether her horrifying visions are real or delusions. Often haunted house books & films can be frustrating because the problem can be solved simply by getting out of the house, but here the protagonists truly trapped. They're teens, thus their choices are defined by their parents. Connor must obey the whims of his father and Gwen's parents do not trust her credibility and are constantly monitoring her for signs of a relapse. They are left at the mercy of the house and its bloodthirsty machinations as the narrative draws to a conclusion that seem inevitable. 

    Much of the novel's  scares come from subtle yet uncanny occurrences: a open door Gwen was certain was shut**, feeling breathe on the back of your neck when there's no one in the room, but there's some more graphic horror imagery as well and it's used effectively. Overall I found Amity quit entertaining and recommend it to any horror fans looking for a fun read. 

*not every horror movie. The Human Centipede will never pass before my eyeballs.
**Coincidently the closet in my bathroom has decided to creak open on its own and the lights randomly dim. Fun times at 3am!



0 comments:

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Release Day Review: Amity by Micol Ostow

Amity by Micol Ostow
Published by Egmont USA
My Rating:  ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Disclaimer: Received for review consideration from the publisher via Edelweiss. This does not affect my opinion of the book. 

 For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.


Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

Review: There's plenty to enjoy in Amity, especially for horror fans. As someone who will watch almost any scary movie* and also loves Stephen King, this book was right in my wheelhouse and it certainly delivered. Inspired by the legend surrounding the Amityville Murders as well as various other horror books (Stephen King's The Shining, in particular) this novel provides plenty of creepy moments as it relates the story of two different families inhabiting the evil house. References and allusions to other horror works are fun and plentiful, but most compelling (to me) was the protagonists and the dual first person narration.

    Viewing the house through Connor's eyes serves as a great way to escalate tension, as the creepiness escalates so do the early hints that there's something off about this narrator. Connor also has the specter of his abusive father looming over his family as a danger separate from any kind of haunting. Gwen, the second POV whose family buys the house ten years after Connor's, was recently released from a mental hospital and struggles with the question of whether her horrifying visions are real or delusions. Often haunted house books & films can be frustrating because the problem can be solved simply by getting out of the house, but here the protagonists truly trapped. They're teens, thus their choices are defined by their parents. Connor must obey the whims of his father and Gwen's parents do not trust her credibility and are constantly monitoring her for signs of a relapse. They are left at the mercy of the house and its bloodthirsty machinations as the narrative draws to a conclusion that seem inevitable. 

    Much of the novel's  scares come from subtle yet uncanny occurrences: a open door Gwen was certain was shut**, feeling breathe on the back of your neck when there's no one in the room, but there's some more graphic horror imagery as well and it's used effectively. Overall I found Amity quit entertaining and recommend it to any horror fans looking for a fun read. 

*not every horror movie. The Human Centipede will never pass before my eyeballs.
**Coincidently the closet in my bathroom has decided to creak open on its own and the lights randomly dim. Fun times at 3am!



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you, comments are appreciated :)